Ramaphosa names ‘transitional’ cabinet


Ramaphosa names ‘transitional’ cabinet

THE SouthernTIMES Mar 19, 2018


    PRETORIA - President Cyril Ramaphosa says his new cabinet should be seen as a "transitional" cabinet.

    Speaking to eNCA journalist Annika Larsen outside the Old Assembly chamber on Tuesday morning, where Ramaphosa he was due to address the House of Traditional Leaders, Ramaphosa claimed he did not have to compromise on its composition.

    "No, no, this is a transitional cabinet. It is the cabinet that will take us to the next elections.

    "That's how people should see it, and it is a very strong cabinet. It takes into account the strengths we have in government and we have some really good people.

    "I'd like to give them a chance and give them an opportunity. I'm hoping... they will take us forward, so South Africa is moving forward with this cabinet."

    Ramaphosa said they are still coming up with proposals over the reconfiguration of a new cabinet.

    He promised during his SONA address that he would review the size and configuration of his cabinet after consultation with many stakeholders, including opposition parties.

    Ramphosa announced significant changes to his cabinet on Monday night. 

    He also appointed Mpumalanga premier and ANC deputy president David "DD" Mabuza as deputy president of the country. Mabuza will be sworn in as an MP on Tuesday.

    Here follows a list of new ministers, those that have been fired and those who were moved. 



    Deputy President

    David "DD" Mabuza


    Nhlanhla Nene

    Mineral Resources:

    Gwede Mantashe

    Public Enterprises:

    Pravin Gordhan

    Presidency (Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation):

    Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma


    Derek Hanekom


    Blade Nzimande

    Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs:

    Zweli Mkhize



    Mosebenzi Zwane (mineral resources)

    Lynne Brown (public enterprises)

    Joe Maswanganyi (transport)

    Des van Rooyen (cooperative governance and traditional affairs)

    Faith Muthambi (public service and administration)

    David Mahlobo (energy)

    Hlengiwe Mkhize (higher education)

    Fikile Mbalula (police)

    Nkosinathi Nhleko (public works)

    Bongani Bongo (state security)



    Home Affairs:

    Malusi Gigaba


    Nomvula Mokonyane


    Jeff Radebe

    Higher Education:

    Naledi Pandor

    Human Settlements:

    Nomaindia Mfeketo (promoted from deputy minister)

    International Relations:

    Lindiwe Sisulu


    Bheki Cele (promoted from deputy minister of DAFF)

    Public Service and Administration:

    Ayanda Dlodlo

    Public Works:

    Thulas Nxesi

    Rural Development:

    Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

    Science and Technology:

    Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane

    Social Development:

    Susan Shabangu


    Thokozile Xasa

    State Security:

    Dipuo Bertha Letsatsi-Duba (promoted from deputy minister)

    Presidency (Women):

    Bathabile Dlamini

    Water and Sanitation:

    Gugile Nkwinti - News24.

Order this cartoon



You are commenting as guest.Register Now. Already registered? Sign in Now